Image

Hey there, book lovers.

I went out and bought three new books today. I went out with my family for the day, they came up to see me and then we went to London for the day for my little sister’s birthday, went to Ripley’s- Believe It Or Not! museum, had a look round, walked through a mirror maze and dodged some lazers in the lazer race. Then we wandered around London, my sister and I saw a Waterstones and took our chances. I found the books by my favourite author, Sophie McKenzie in there, and as my Mum had made me aware that I still had some leftover christmas money, I bought the sequels to Falling Fast: Burning Bright, Casting Shadows and Defy The Stars. So yeah, three more books to add to the review list. (Just as soon as I’ve read them, of course. That would probably help.)

Anyway, apologies for the rambling. I have a habit of doing that.

This post is a review of a wonderful book by Markus Zusak called The Book Thief. This tragic novel is set in late 1930’s Germany and is narrated by Death, the carrier and collector of souls.

The novel focuses on the lives of the people living in Nazi Germany during this time, and more specifically the life of a little girl called Liesel Meminger who has been sent away to live with foster parents when her mother and father are sent to a concentration camp and her little brother does not quite make the journey.

The description in the book is genuinely beautiful. Liesel herself is described well as she undergoes her journey living on Himmel Street, as are the others that she meets and interacts with there. I don’t think I can talk about this one enough, so I’ll just keep it very simple and say that you really need to go out and buy this book. It is sad, moving and may bring you to tears, but if you like that kind of thing, it is the perfect book for you.

This is also a movie. I haven’t seen it myself yet, but I adored the book so I know I will be going to see it soon. Here is the trailer. Enjoy.

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6dRuGwS1gWU

Happy reading!

April

😀

