dance of shadows

Hey, book lovers.

Many apologies- I’m well aware that it’s been a long time since I last posted. I hope you don’t think I’m making excuses here, but I’m afraid I’ve just been very busy with finishing and submitting my four 70% assessments and their contextual studies, as well as trying to look for and sort out the contract of a new flat for my second academic year at the University of Bedfordshire! Yes, I’m a busy, busy bee.

On to more important matters- my first book review in a while! This post in particular is going to involve a wonderful book by an author called Yelena Black, Dance of Ashes. It’s a fantastic book with a gripping and complex plot, the narrative leaving you wondering after what is going on throughout the book and what this strange mystery is about this odd dance school.

The main character is Vanessa. The narrative is written in third person, but it’s the kind of narrative that still leaves you thinking you are in the character’s head, if you know what I mean? That doesn’t happen to me often, but this was one book that did exactly that. She goes to this mysterious dance school in New York to find her missing sister Margaret, who has mysteriously disappeared from the school, along with many other leading ballerinas. I just wanted to keep on reading this book. You don’t find out what is so mysterious about the school until near the end, (and I won’t spoil it for you, it’s better that way), but as Vanessa digs deeper into the school’s history she discovers a deep and dark secret, and there are many there who want to lead her towards danger, such as the gorgeous Zeppelin Gray, and others who only want to help, like the loveable Justin. I didn’t like him at first, I guess I just didn’t like the way he kept appearing, but I realised towards the middle of the book that he’s just trying to lead her out of this dark situation because he knows and has experienced these many other disappearances.

The friendships she has with the other people at the school were pretty cool, too. There’s a gay drama queen guy called Blaine who is always on about how much he fancies certain guys he sees, which is rather amusing, particularly when Steffie and TJ, Vanessa’s roommates join in on the discussions.

The book reminded me a lot of another book I’ve recently posted a review for on here (and since finishing Dance of Shadows, I’ve began to read Legacy, the sequel to Night School), a book about Allie, who goes to a school called Cimmeria and discovers that school really can be murder. That’s all I’ll say. I just really recommend you read them both, especially if you enjoyed Night School. If you do, you’ll absolutely adore Dance of Shadows!

Just can’t seem to get enough of books.

Happy reading!

April

😀

