Hey, book lovers.

Long time no blog post. I’ve been a littlle busy with the beginning of my second year at Uni, getting myself back into the swing of things after the summer ended. I passed with some grades I’m pretty happy with and next week I get the grades for the first couple of assessments I handed in for year 2, so that’s pretty exciting (and pretty terrifying).

But of course, I love reading books, writing books and talking about books. So the only New Years resolution (or goal, really) that I’ve thought about is to write more book reviews. Some of the others, if I were to think of some off the top of my head, would probably be to write more in general (edit the book I finished over the summer, start writing a new one, do my best in my assignments and write more short stories and poetry that aren’t related to my uni work).

And with that in mind, I’ve recently received two new bookcases that I’ve ordered (and are yet to be built), and a full set of new books that I’ve been quite interested in reading. This list includes:

Devoted by Hilary Duff (sequel to Elixir, which I am currently reading and will be reviewing soon)

True by Hilary Duff (sequel to Devoted)

Crown Of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas (sequel to Throne of Glass, which I have recently finished reading and will be reviewing soon)

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas (sequel to Crown of Midnight)

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas (prequel novellas to Throne of Glass)

(Yes, I tend to buy books in groups if I enjoy reading them enough. More fun that way, because you can just jump right into the sequel as soon as you’ve finished the book before it if you are feeling ruthless.)

So reviews for each of these books will be coming soon, but I definitely recommend the Throne of Glass series if you like a good fantasy novel with elements of romance, a fiery, kick-ass protagonist- she’s an assassin, I guess she has to be- and the first book pulled me in so much and I just could not put it down. I am yet to read the sequels but I’m hopeful that they will do the same. It’s definitely, definitely without a doubt on top of my list of favourite books, but that’s just in personal preference. I started reading Elixir last night and if I wasn’t falling asleep I probably would have read it through the night because I started reading it around half ten after finishing another book called Stolen, which is one of the books I will be reviewing very soon.

So, I have lots of books to think about and read at the moment, and to fill my next two bookcases with. On the way to building that library!

Happy reading!

😀

April

