Hey, book lovers.

So, it’s been a while since I’ve written one of these posts. I usually tend to post book reviews, but scarcely even those, lately. Term has started again, and the Christmas retail period, as well as actually trying to be social with loved ones, leaves little time to update. But, for now, I thought I would at least try to add something to this page. We can only start somewhere, right?

I’ve very, very recently finished writing my first, proper novel. I say proper, because my very first, which I wrote during my second year of A Levels in Sixth Form, has a lot of improvements still to be made. I think that book was my learning curve for writing a novel. I won’t give too much detail on that one. Maybe another time, once I’ve sat down to alter it. This one, which I now call my first, shows my development in writing since my course, I think.

I wrote this one not long after finishing the first draft of the practice-novel. It was completely different, altogether YA, and the kind of thing I wanted to write. I love young adult novels, reading them and writing them. I had a lot more fun with this one than with the last, and learned a lot about character development and plot through my experimentation. I’ve received some very, very useful feedback from this, which I am honestly so grateful for. Again, I don’t want to provide details, but I am so glad I had started to re-vamp this one again. I am now having a full edit of the whole manuscript again, and taking the advice into account, and it has honestly really helped me to see what exactly I was doing wrong, but I have a lot of confidence in the novel now, aswell.

I did this alongside writing the novel I am currently writing, which is also completely YA, and focused on another girl, of the same age, who makes a discovery about her family life. This discovery leads her into the world of a family she never knew existed, and she struggles through trainings and other dangers of her own. This novel is on its way to being finished, with maybe another five or six chapters to be written, but it is slowly coming to an end. For now, at least, as I’ve already had ideas for its sequel.

And, on this note, this brings me back to the recently completed one. As of tomorrow, I am going to be attempting NaNoWriMo this year, for the first time! I’ve heard lots about it, and thought it would be worth the challenge, at least. So, for this, I’m going to be writing the sequel to the one I have received feedback on, and then potentially, after that, I will come to write the sequel to the one I am currently writing.

In the meantime, my Special Project at university is also going to be the beginning of a novel, which I have an idea for, but that one won’t be started until after the Christmas term, as we have other units first. A presentation and an essay, for one unit, and a fantasy short story piece, for another. Busy! But I love being kept busy, and anyone who knows me well enough will tell you that.

Perhaps there will be more details of these in the future. For now, let me know if there’s anything you’re doing like this, or if you’re doing NaNoWriMo! It should definitely be fun.

Happy reading 😀

April

xxx

