Hey, book lovers.

I absolutely love writing fantasy pieces, lately. Throughout my first year of university, I was writing a lot of dystopian world stuff, because it was the sort of stuff I liked reading, (The Hunger Games, Divergent, Under The Never Sky, Matched, Atlantia, etc), and I’ve always enjoyed it, but mostly for the idea of writing strong, battle-minded characters, and secondary world settings and situations. In the second, I moved on to more of the realism area of the genre.

This, I am referring to, is of course, young adult fantasy. I don’t know why, but a lot of my characters tend to be teenagers dealing with things like growing up and the struggles related to that, as in my recently finished novel and its sequel, and the other one I am writing alongside those. It is only this year that I have started to lean more towards fantasy. I mean, we specifically have a Writing Fantasy Fiction unit this year, and I’ve been reading a lot of it over the summer anyway. Some of these have been:

Atlantia by Ally Condie

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

The Jewel by Amy Ewing

The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

The Selection by Kiera Cass

The Elite by Kiera Cass

The One by Kiera Cass

The Heir by Kiera Cass

There are also a few I have bought but not had the chance to read yet. I am currently reading:

A Thousand Nights by E. K Johnston

Some others I have bought but not yet read, were:

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

The Queen Of The Tearling by Erika Johansen

All of these books have really intriguing concepts, and most of them have worlds that I’m extremely jealous that the writer’s were able to create, but everyone has their strengths, and I’m getting better at going into this genre, as I progress with the unit, with my reading and with my writing in it. A lot of these books also have female protagonists, which is probably what drew me in a lot. Celeana from the Throne of Glass series is epic, for example. You can find the reviews of these books on this blog. She’s a kickass assassin who is also Fae, which is pretty damn awesome. I could probably describe all of these in detail but that would take me a long, long time, so I’ll pick out a few.

A Thousand Nights is set in a desert world where demon-like creatures control the king, where the people mostly live in small ‘tribes’, or villages, really, and religion is a big issue for them all. There will be a detailed review of this book up here when I have finished reading it, but for now I just want to say this is one of the most unique worlds I’ve seen in a while. There is definitely a Beauty and The Beast vibe to this book, as the king comes to the village and takes our protagonist, unnamed, throughout the book, who steps forward to protect her ‘more beautiful’ sister from marrying him, knowing that the king has a habit of taking these girls and killing them if they are not right for him. I just loved the setting, the beliefs of the characters and their ‘smallgods’, which they regularly pray to. I loved the sandy nature, their clothing, and I can imagine this all so clearly. And I’m not even finished reading it, yet.

The Selection series is set in a world where people are placed into numbers, from Eight to One, one being the highest, eight being the lowest, in regards to their social status. The royals set a national competition, where they elect a new princess, and one the prince and his family have chosen, narrowing it down from thirty to one. Our protagonist, America Singer, comes from Five, and the story develops from her perspective as at first she does not want to be there, but then later begins to fall in love with the prince, who has always wanted her, himself. I could really see the world of this one.

And then, there was The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, which also revolves around a status theme. There are two groups of people, those with red blood, and those with silver. Those with silver blood are seen as higher, and a larger priority than those with red blood. They also elect a new queen, but do not come to realise that our red-blooded protagonist has fallen into the running and when she is chosen, the royalty are forced to hide the truth from the world. There is war, here, and it’s effectively played.

I love unique worlds. I once wrote a short story piece, which was based in a dystopian female-lead society, run by a brutal female President. This was rather difficult to do, but I did a similar thing for a portfolio in my second year, which was both poetry and very short stories of 1,000 words each. I enjoyed all of these stories, and they were very much inspired by The Hunger Games and Divergent.

I now have plans for two fantasy novels, one I am writing for my fantasy unit and another that will be my university 12,000 word Special Project. I hope to be as imaginative as I can with these stories, and use my inspiration from my reading to help. Have you read any of these books? Would you recommend any others?

There will be more specific, detailed descriptions of each of these novels at a later date. For now, they are simple ideas forming in my mind. Do you write fantasy? Do you enjoy it? Let me know!

For now, happy reading!

April

😀 xxx

