Hey, book lovers.

Since writing my post about world-building a few days ago, I’ve been thinking a lot about writing-based topics. I have recently had a lecture on creating characters, but it was something I had considered writing a post on for a little while before that. So, I think I will give my opinions on the topic. Perhaps I will continue these posts as a short series, whenever I can think of something worst posting about. I do have a few ideas.

You are welcome to disagree with me, and share your thoughts in the comment section below if you like, but this is just my opinion, and some of what I have been told in classes, through various youtube videos and from my own reading experiences.

Personally, I love writing well rounded characters, but I think they can be quite tricky to create, unless you already know them and their back-story well. It can depend on the character, sometimes, and the story, but a character won’t be realistic or believable to a reader if they do not have flaws, their own voice or opinions, and then they will be considered as flat or ‘2D’. Coming from a contemporary YA perspective, I can think of one specific example: Hannah from ‘Thirteen Reasons Why’ by Jay Asher. Clay, our narrator, is listening to a tape from which he is forced to discover the reasons behind Hannah’s suicide. Through his narrations, we hear of Hannah’s struggles that lead to her death. She’s real and relatable because of these struggles, and Clay is a realistic character because of how he comes to deal with the issue.

In a fantasy view, Aelin/Celeana from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas is real because she is physically and mentally strong; she has come from being a slave to an assassin, and wins many hearts along the way. She is loved, and often hated, by many, because of her bold actions. She fights, and she always keeps going, no matter what she is going through. But emotion does take hold of her, often, and she breaks down many times throughout the course of the books. I know I speak of these books a lot, but I couldn’t really recommend them enough. Her emotions make her raw and real, and I think this is something that is important when creating characters.

Every character must represent a new, real person, or the reader will not be able to relate to them. This may make them want to put the book down. Everyone has emotions, feelings, or a past of their own, which will alter their decisions and their actions. It is always important to take these into account when writing new characters. It’s something I really enjoy, and something I will always try to consider in my novels and in my short stories.

What do you think makes a good character? Let me know!

For now, happy reading.

April 😀

xxx

