Hey, book lovers.

So, today was pretty awesome, to say the least. Have you ever had that awesome feeling when you’ve been writing a novel for a long time, and you’ve not planned too much but then suddenly, you know how it’s going to end, and you finish it? Well, that’s what happened to me today, and I am so damn happy about it.

I started writing this one for an assessment piece in the first year of uni, (I’m studying Creative Writing at Bedfordshire), and for some units, we’re able to write the beginning of a novel, so that’s what I did. I somehow managed to get myself an A- on it, the highest grade I’ve had in my degree, ever, so that was a nice achievement in itself. But, of course, it’s not about the grades, it’s about the story and the writing style. I was just very happy, at the time, to actually do that well in an assessment. So, yeah, anyway, as you might have guessed, this book is one I’ve only recently finished the first draft on, today. I am rather happy with how it went, although I know there are a lot of changes to be made, and some more chapters to be put into in the middle. But I have enjoyed writing my characters, and I want to continue the story, and have started writing the sequel, from another character’s perspective within the same world.

The basic concept is this: Anna is sixteen years old when she discovers a strange letter on her doorstep, which claims to be from her birth mother, although she didn’t know she was adopted. She later comes to find that the letter was passed onto her by her biological father, a gang leader, with his own dark intentions for bringing her back to them. 

She encounters many dangers, and her world changes completely. I have enjoyed writing this one, and can’t wait to get on with its sequel, because, you know, I’ve started to want to write in a series lately. Not sure why, but it works.

So, now I’m working on one finished novel, one first draft of a finished novel, the sequels to each of those, a fantasy novel for my Writing Fantasy Fiction assessment piece, and soon, my Special Project, which will also be a fantasy novel. God, I love writing!

Excuse my rant. Have you been writing? Let me know.

For now, happy reading 😀

April

xxx

