Scarlet_Cover

Hey, book lovers.

So, I finally finished book two of the Lunar Chronicles series! This series of classic twists on the fairytales really has me hooked. I reviewed the first book, so if you haven’t read it yet, you can find that review here: Cinder review

There is so much to this world, and I’m in love with it all. It’s definitely got a sci-fi twist, with androids and spaceships and cyborgs, and takes on the more fairytale sense that comes with the classic stories- there’s romance, and flirty chat-up lines (especially from Captain Thorne), he made me laugh out loud many, many times while reading this. It was discovered in the first book that Cinder, a mechanic from New Beijing, was the lost princess of Lunar, and now this book has continued her journey through this realisation, and she is forced to take on the evil queen of Lunar, Levana, her aunt. At the same time, this book takes on the perspective of Scarlet Benoit, and she is… drum roll please…. Little Red Riding Hood. Okay, maybe that wasn’t necessary, but hey ho. It works.

So, Scarlet’s grandmother has been missing for a while, when this book begins. She has been in search of the woman for a while, when a stranger appears in her small town, and he is known as Wolf. I adored the references to the fairytale classic here, because of the name (obviously), his long-haired appearance, and his constant hunger. I read this book quickly, because it drew me in so much. I’m not usually a fast reader, at all. But I was enjoying this, and one night when I was feeling ill, I read the most of it, then finished the rest the following morning.

Then, the narration of the story alternates, in a close third person perspective, from Scarlet, to Cinder, to Emperor Kai, to Wolf, and then to Levana, at the very end. I loved this- I found it a lot more interesting to read from all of the different parts of the world, the different journeys taken, when Cinder is moving across the world, to find Scarlet’s grandmother, on Captain Thorne’s ship. Meanwhile, I loved Scarlet’s developing bond with Wolf, as she learns to trust him, and then later discovering his manipulation and betrayal, when he leads her into the ancient theatre, where his pack have her grandmother held. There were so many scenes in this book that I couldn’t stop reading, I didn’t want to leave my room, or go to sleep, because I was so invested in it.

There is so much to it. I think this is a series you need to read, to understand fully. But when you do, it’s definitely worth it.

Happy reading!

April 😀

xx

