Hey, book lovers.

So, it’s been a while. I’ve been really busy since the last time I posted on here.

Not long after I last posted, I was promoted to Supervisor at the store I work in, The Works, and even that feels like a while ago now. I’ve been working like five-day-weeks for the last couple of months, I think, and I’ve done a fair few closes and one open on my own by now, and I think I’m getting the hang of it all. I really enjoy it. It feels strange to know that I’ve been with this company for two and a half years now, but I think I have a better understanding of how everything is run now, than when I was a Sales Assistant. Either way, I love it. I’m closer than I’ve ever been with a team and everyone I work with is helpful and supportive, (even with my ramblings about my writing stuff, which I’m really grateful for!) but also just about how I’m doing in general. I’ve also just been put forward for a massive shop move in the coming week. I’d always wanted to be able to join in with more bigger things like this, but didn’t have the opportunity. We shall see how it goes!

In that time, I’ve also been querying agents and publishers about my first novel in the series I’m working on, Metal Hearts, which is part of a trilogy. I’ve submitted to a few agents, (two polite rejections so far), and also a lovely full manuscript request from an editor at Penguin (!), on a stressful evening, of my first ever close at work as a Supervisor, and another a week later, on the evening of a day I’d spent mostly in Southampton in hospital with my parents and my poorly sister. This second one was after I joined in with a Twitter event called #DVpit where authors could pitch to agents about their books, and if the agents favourited the tweet, that meant they wanted them to submit to them. This agent who favourited my tweet also just so happened to have the same birthday as me! When I mentioned that, she just tweeted back, “meant to be :)”.  So, that was both strange and amazing! Now I’m just waiting on their replies, and another few agents. It’s all really nerve-racking and really exciting at the same time. Fingers are madly crossed. It’s been a few weeks on those and I don’t know how long that process takes.

I’ve also been taking part in NaNoWriMo! I’m working on book two of the above mentioned series, and I’m on chapter 14 now, and about 9,000 words in so far! 9,000 words in five days! That is insane! It’s like being back at uni! And the weird thing is I’m also really happy with the scenes I wrote for them.. You wouldn’t expect that, would you? The annoying thing is that I got behind target last night, and I’ve now got to catch up, but I’m ill and exhausted and in pain, so I haven’t written a single word yet today. But…I did just outline about 3/4 of the rest of the novel, with some massive plot points and twists and scenes, so that counts, right? (Not towards my word count, of course, but hey ho.) When I reach 10,000, I might buy myself a book or something, as an incentive. xD This is actually my first time taking part, as last year I tried and flunked, due to dissertations. Fun!

So much more left to write, but I’m really loving this series!

Everything is busy and stressful and I’m tired and ill, but somehow… I’m feeling pretty positive. Good thing, right?

Catch you next time,

April

xx

